Facebook Rumoured to Buy Opera and Launch Browser

Posted on May 27, 2012. Filed under: Technology | Tags: , |


It seems like we have more browser wars to look forward to. While Yahoo!’s added their own browser, Axis, to the mix, Facebook has been rumoured to be potentially buying Opera Software, the company behind the Opera web and mobile browsers. According to Pocket-Lint , a trusted source says that Facebook wants to buy the company behind the browser that boasts of 20 million users worldwide. As expected, the browser would be designed to give users more access to Facebookwith default browser plugins. It also might work the other way around where Facebook can see users’ browsing history in more detail andof course, this information is highly valuable to advertisers. Whether the acquisition will even be approved is yet to be seen.

Facebook has made it quite obvious that they want to be ubiquitous, rather, more so than they already are. Buildinga browser is only the next step for Facebook to become your web, rather than be a site whose services you use.The company recently bought Instagram for what seemed like an acquisition of talent to improve their own mobile interface. However, yesterday Facebook launched their own photoediting and sharing app, called Facebook Camera. Currently only available for iOS, the app allows you to take pictures, addfilters and upload them directly to Facebook. Theapp also presents, in Newsfeed format, all the photos that your friends have uploaded to the social network. And don’t forget, Facebook also bought Instagram rival, Lightbox. This sequence of events where Facebook bought a company only to make a competing product is not likely to be applicable to the Facebook-Opera potential acquisition.

Facebook is even testinga feature called Highlighted Posts, wherein users pay the social network to have their status updates amplified. This will be useful for bands who want to promote their gigs or someone who wants to sell their car. Building a Facebook browser means delivering the Facebook experience before the user even heads on over to the site. There ispotential for these highlighted posts to showup in the browser windowbefore the user clicks onFacebook. Of course, we’re talking about two still speculative elements.Will you use the Facebook browser? Do you think it’s a bit much?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

15 Responses to “Facebook Rumoured to Buy Opera and Launch Browser”

RSS Feed for TechKnow Comments RSS Feed

Very efficiently written story. It will be beneficial to anyone who employess it, including myself. Keep doing what you are doing – for sure i will check out more posts.

I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I am quite sure I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

Hello there, You have done an excellent job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this website.

My brother recommended I might like this website. He was entirely right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is magnificent blog. A great read. I’ll certainly be back.

Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others like you aided me.

I was recommended this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You are incredible! Thanks!

Hello.This article was really fascinating, especially because I was investigating for thoughts on this matter last Thursday.

Definitely, what a fantastic site and revealing posts, I definitely will bookmark your site.Best Regards!

Hello.This post was really interesting, particularly since I was browsing for thoughts on this issue last Sunday.

I keep listening to the news bulletin lecture about getting free online grant applications so I have been looking around for the top site to get one. Could you tell me please, where could i acquire some?

I want to voice my passion for your kindness supporting those who really need help on the issue. Your very own commitment to getting the message across had become pretty advantageous and have constantly made many people much like me to attain their desired goals. Your amazing helpful key points signifies a lot a person like me and far more to my colleagues. Thanks a ton; from everyone of us.

I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my problem. You are wonderful! Thanks!

I was recommended this blog through my cousin. I’m now not positive whether or not this publish is written by means of him as nobody else recognise such particular about my difficulty. You’re amazing! Thank you!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Hot Technology News, New Mobile Releases, Gadget Updates, App Reviews & Much More!!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

